Clermont City Council Incumbents Reelected


Election results are in and Clermont’s residents have chosen their leaders.

Incumbents Gail Ash (Mayor – Clermont City Council Seat 3), Diane Travis (Seat 5) and Timothy Bates (Seat 1) will be sworn into office again for two more years at the 6:30 p.m. Nov. 27 Council meeting in City Hall’s Council Chambers.

  • Ash received 8,935 votes (56.89 percent), while Jack Kruse received 6,771 votes (43.11 percent).
  • Travis received 9,622 votes (63.19 percent), while Ebo Entsuah received 5,604 votes (36.81 percent).
  • Bates was unopposed.

The Nov. 6 General Election results come from the Lake County Supervisor of Elections, with all 11 of Clermont’s precincts counted. The results are unofficial until overseas and provisional ballots (UOCAVA) are counted.


“I’m so thrilled,” said Ash, Clermont’s first female mayor. “I look forward to all that we’ll accomplish in the next two years with our Master Plan, Project Olympus and more.”

Ash has been mayor since 2014 and previously served as a council member from 2002-2005. Travis has been on the council since 2014 and also is excited to continue working on the city’s award-winning Master Plan.

“I truly appreciate the support and votes to allow me to continue to serve our great city for the next two years,” Travis said. “I want to continue what we started four years ago with the Master Plan and other projects. Thank you, Clermont voters!”

As for Bates, he has served on the council since 2012.

“I am humbled and honored to have the opportunity to represent the citizens of Clermont,” Bates said. “I look forward to continuing the implementation of the Master Plan, generating more life in the downtown area and helping develop the Wellness Way area. Thank you for your continued trust and support.”

The other two council seats will be up for election in November 2019. Ray Goodgame has held Seat 2 since 2004, and Heidi Brishke has held Seat 4 since 2017. Clermont City Council members hold two-year terms.