City of Clermont Election Results 11/6/2019


Jim Purvis elected, Heidi Brishke reelected for Clermont City Council


Charter Amendments Approved to Limit Council Terms, Require Residency

Election results are in and Clermont’s residents have chosen their leaders.


James (Jim) Purvis (Clermont City Council Seat 2) and incumbent Heidi L. Brishke (Seat 4) will be sworn into office for two-year terms at the 6:30 p.m. Nov. 19 council meeting in Clermont City Hall’s Council Chambers, 685 W. Montrose St. Also, both charter amendments on the ballot were approved.

The Nov. 5 General Municipal Election results come from the Lake County Supervisor of Elections, with all 11 of Clermont’s precincts counted.

  • Purvis received 1,815 votes (61.3%), while Joe Gustafson received 1,146 votes (38.7%).
  • Brishke received 1,661 votes (57.45%), while Ebo Entsuah received 1,230 votes (42.55%).
  • Amendment 1 (Council Term Limits) received 2,698 “yes” votes (89.34%) and 322 “no” votes (10.66%).
  • Amendment 2 (Council Residency Requirements) received 2,785 “yes” votes (92.59%) and 223 “no” votes (7.41%).

The results are unofficial until the City of Clermont Canvassing Board meets on Nov. 7 to review the provisional ballots.

Brishke has held Seat 4 since 2017. This is the first time Purvis will be on the council.

Previously, the Clermont City Charter did not limit the number of terms a person could serve on the council; Amendment 1 will limit a person to four consecutive two-year terms.

In addition, the charter did not require a candidate for a seat on the council to be a resident of the city for any set period prior to qualifying as a candidate; Amendment 2 will require that a candidate shall be a qualified elector of the city for a minimum of 18 months prior to the date of qualification as a candidate.

Clermont City Council seat terms are for two years and are staggered with Seats 1, 3 and 5 up for election in even years and Seats 2 and 4 in odd years.