Commissioner Sean Parks named Chairman of Lake County Board of County Commissioners


Commissioner Sean Parks was unanimously chosen as the Lake County Board of County Commissioners Chairman during today’s board meeting.

Commissioner Parks, District 2, is serving his third term after he was first elected to the County Commission in 2010. Commissioner Parks strongly believes in exercising servant leadership and in actively listening to residents’ concerns. An ardent leader and supporter of economic development and business friendly initiatives, Commissioner Parks’ interest in serving the citizens of Lake County also focuses on public safety, parks and recreation and water resources. Commissioner Parks championed the cause to bring competitive rowing to Lake County and is passionate about the Wellness Way Plan for bringing high wage jobs to Lake County while protecting quality of life.

Commissioner Kirby Smith, District 3, was selected as vice chair. Commissioner Smith is a lifelong resident of Lake County, born in Eustis and currently living in Tavares. Graduating from Tavares High School in 1986, he later earned his bachelor’s degree in business management. He has dedicated his life to serving his community as a firefighter/EMT and youth baseball coach as well as serving on the Tavares City Council from 2009 to 2019 as mayor, vice mayor and councilmember.