Montverde Academy Students Sign National Letters of Intent, Totaling More Than $1.3 Million in Athletic Scholarship


Montverde Academy is proud to announce that 15 student-athletes participated in National Signing Day today, which is the first day that a high school senior can sign a binding National Letter of Intent to play collegiate sports with the college or university that they have chosen.


The signing ceremony was held during the Upper School assembly for signees, accompanied by family, friends and coaches, to be recognized and celebrated by their peers for their outstanding achievements in their sport. National Letters of Intent were signed for colleges including Oklahoma State University, University of Michigan, Florida State University, Georgetown University, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, Lasalle University, University of Central Florida, and more, with student-athletes earning full and partial scholarships totaling more than $1.3 million.

“The entire Montverde Academy community congratulates our student-athletes and their families on their tremendous accomplishment,” said Dr. Kasey C. Kesselring, Headmaster, Montverde Academy. “This is an exciting day for a student-athlete and his/her family as it is the culmination of many years of hard work and sacrifice. We wish our students continued success, and look forward to watching them pursue their passion at the collegiate level.”


Boys Basketball

Lachlan Bofinger – University of Texas, San Antonio

Scott Barnes – Florida State University

Cade Cunningham – Oklahoma State University

Day’ron Sharpe – UNC – Chapel Hill

Zeb Jackson – University of Michigan

Anwar Gill – LaSalle University

Girls Basketball

Kayla Morris – East Carolina University


Joseph “JoJo” Coffey – University of Central Florida

Girls Soccer

Jody Brown – Florida State University

Hannah Davies – Lesse-McRae University


Gabriella Gilrowski – Georgetown University

Thin Wai Khaing – University of South Florida

Arantza Armas Stenner – New Mexico State University

Junfan Wang – University of Rochester


Shaela Bybee – Santa Fe College